Pear and ginger muffins (#22)

Now I know I need to stop just pillaging Nigella. I am in fact buying a Hairy Biker’s book at some point soon, not only because their programmes are playful and pleasant viewing, but also because when we have a house of three I can hopefully scale up the cooking.

In the meantime, the nation’s favourite TV chef has provided me with this little gem. Not only has everyone told me these are wonderful – five separate people at two different parties counts as ‘everyone’ –  but it’s a nice way for me to remind you all, once again, that Nigella Express is one of the best books out there if you like fast, no fuss cooking with superb results. I think the mousse is the only thing I wasn’t bowled over with, but that’s my second underwhelming attempt at a mousse so maybe it’s me.

I also loved this because I had everything in the house before turning a single page of Nigella Express, apart from soured cream and pears, which are basically the only ‘fresh’ ingredients involved that aren’t essentials.

If you don’t feel confident baking, just give these a try. So easy, so quick, and oh so tasty. The pears even make it feel healthy.

Good things: Delightful results. Can be done from start to finish in 30-35 minutes if you’re on it.

Bad things: Nothing. Absolutely nothing. Unless you don’t like pears, but who honestly dislikes pears?

Ingredients (for two servings):

  • 250g flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 75g light brown sugar (you’ll need more to sprinkle on top later)
    wet ingredients:
  • 125 ml vegetable oil
  • 142 ml soured cream (one pot)
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 regular pears (Nigella says 1 large pear or whatever amounts to around 300g)

Required

  • large mixing bowl
  • measuring jug (Pyrex)
  • 12 case muffin tin and muffin cases

Preparation

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 C
  2. Lay out the muffin cases on the muffin tin
  3. In a large mixing bowl:
    1. 250g plain flour
    2. 2 teaspoons baking powder
    3. 150g caster sugar
    4. 75g light brown sugar
    5. Mix it all together with you hands
  4. In a pyrex jug:
    1. 125 ml vegetable oil (this is the only one you’ll have to measure, so I’d put this in the Pyrex first)
    2. 142 ml soured cream (basically one pot)
    3. 1 tablespoon of honey
    4. 2 eggs
    5. Whisk together so it forms one homogeneous liquid
  5. Shave and quite finely dice the 2 pears

Cooking

  1. Fold the liquid mix into the dry ingredients in the mixing bowl
  2. Fold in the diced pear
  3. Divide the batter evenly between the muffin cases. I found that if you took a regular large eating spoon you should have roughly 2 spoonfuls worth of mixture per muffin case.
  4. Sprinkle a healthy pinch of brown sugar on each muffin.
  5. Bake for 20 mins. Don’t open the door until it’s done!
  6. Remove to a cooling rack. Eat as soon as you wish!

Reflections

This is such a wonderful little number to bake. I actually had to bake it twice because I lost the photos when I changed phone and, y’know what, I don’t regret it for a second. Once you’ve prepped for basically 5 mins, you’re incredibly near to having lots of muffin-y goodness!

IMG_0072

One Comment Add yours

  1. Love that combination of ginger and pear. Great work (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

