Scallops and chorizo (#17)

Don’t runaway! I promise you’ll love it.

I’ve had two days confined to barracks due to tonsillitis which left me working from home. Once I’d mostly recovered on Saturday I decided to spend the first half of my weekend re-integrated with the rest of human race. Now it’s Sunday, I’m feeling creative and productive. And nothing said creative to me (read adventurous) more than scallops.

I think people are sometimes a little frightened to even order scallops in a restaurant, and I was doubly reluctant to cook them. But Nigella Express told me not to stand on the sidelines but to get stuck in, so I did.

This one turned out great. A pretty easy few mins that resulted in a lovely quick lunch for one.

Good things: it’s so nice to genuinely have something new and usual at home.

Bad things: Scallops aren’t cheap.

Ingredients (for a light lunch for one):

  • 30g of chorizo
  • 100g of small scallops (or you can just halve some large ones)
  • juice of 1/4 of a lemon
  • Optional: 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh parsley

Required:

  • Heavy based frying pan
  • Small bowl (or just a ramekin) to hold the chorizo for a bit during the cooking process
  • Tongs

Cooking:

  1. Slice 30g of chorizo into thin coins, set aside.
  2. If your 100g of scallops are quite large, halve them with a sharp knife. Go gently, they’ll cut relatively easily. Otherwise just have them ready to go into the pan.
  3. Heat your frying pan on a high-ish heat on the hob for a couple of mins until hot.
  4. Fry the chorizo coins for up to 2 mins so they can give out plenty of oil (you won’t need to put oil in the pan for this, dry fry it). Remove.
  5. Use  the tongs to add the scallops to the pan one by one, ordering them in a circle away-ish from the middle of the pan but clearly in the chorizo oil. Fry for 1 min, then use the tongs to turn each over and fry for 1 more min.
  6. Add the reserved chorizo coins to the pan and squeeze the juices of the 1/4 of a lemon into the pan. Fry for a few further seconds and then take off the heat and serve. Sprinkle with the chopped parsley if you feel moved to do so (I rarely have the patience).

Reflections

I must admit I was preparing myself for mollusk mayhem with horrid rubbery scallops. However, frying on a high eat for only a minute a side away from the middle of the pan seemed to do wonders. And even if my presentation skills could do with a brush up, they did come out a  rather lovely seared colour bathed in the chorizo and lemon juice. And nothing quite soaks up the flavour from chorizo like seafood. Oh my. What a delight.

IMG_9955 (1)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

