Italian Traybake (#16)

Okay, I’ve made a traybake before. Many times. I haven’t made this one in particular, so it counts.

Actually, having just put a downer on it, it was scrumptious. Partially because I hadn’t had potato in a while, and potato is one of my absolute faves among the carbs. But also rosemary was just the herb to wet my appetite during this heatwave.

The recipe below is for one human, but just keep sensibly multiplying everything if cooking for more than uno. The recipe is taken from Nigellissima, although I’ve added some leeks just for a bit more veg! And hardly any of my herbs are fresh, unlike our Nigella’s.

For ease of access, I relied on another boil-in-the-bag job courtesy of Uncle Ben’s. The juices all come out of the chicken and lightly mush the potatoes, so that pairing it with rice is far from dry.

Good things: the smell of roasted chicken with rosemary is pretty sexy.

Bad things: it might be the easiest thing on the planet to do, but you’ll be waiting an hour for it like all traybakes. Soz.

Ingredients (for one):

  • 1 King Edward Potato (any baking potato will do though)
  • 2 chicken thighs (with bone!)
  • Italian sausages (although I just used these herb chipolatas)
  • 1/2 leek
  • 1/2 teaspoon of rosemary
  • 1/2 lemon (only zest needed so no actual need to halve)
  • sea salt flakes
  • pepper
  • olive oil

Required

  • Small baking tray / pyrex cooking dish

Prep & cooking

  1. Preheat the oven to 220 C fan
  2. Chop the potato into 2cm chunks, and add them to the tray.
  3. Add the 2 chicken thighs and 3 sausages on top of the potatoes
  4. Chop up half a leek in 1/2 inch chunks and put that in the tray too.
  5. Then cover with the following:
    1. 1/2 teaspoon of rosemary,
    2. grate over the zest of half a lemon,
    3. season with a large pinch of sea salt flakes and some pepper
    4. Finally, drizzle over 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil
  6. Bung the tray in the oven for 25 mins, have a but of a stir, and then cook for another 25-35 mins (Nigella says cook for 50-60 mins in total, I cooked for nearer 50).
  7. Let it rest for 10 mins. Perfect time to put some rice on (for example).

Reflections

I would definitely rely on this one more if I wasn’t rabid with hunger after a day’s work. As much as I love bunging food in dish, dish in oven, roasted food in mouth (etc) I find the lack of cooking difficult when hungry. If I’m cooking for 45 mins after a day of labour, I’m occupied. I’m preparing, checking, tasting, frying, stirring, tasting… did I say that already? But 120 seconds of activity followed by staring at the oven for an hour like it was a 1950s TV on the blink just reminds my brain to check the status of my stomach, only to repeatedly find it still empty.

Nevertheless, go for this one. You’ll find someone popping their head round the corner asking ‘hmmm, what’s that?’.

IMG_9931

Leave a Reply

