Cookie dough pots (#9)

I used to bake cookies with my mother when I was but a wee lad, and I always adored eating the raw dough. ‘No’ she would say, ‘You’ll get an upset tummy’. Now I know that raw eggs are not to be consumed by old people, pregnant women and children. But, I was determined to eat the stuff by the bucket load when I was grown up.

Now I am an adult, I haven’t quite gone the whole hog and just made some raw stuff to devour. However you can bash this fantastic recipe out in 20 mins if you’re on it and what human with even the faintest memory of being young wouldn’t leap at it?

The end result of hardly any work is a joyous chocolatey gooey cookie dough pots. I strongly advise you to make this. Nigella is spot on for desserts, so I want to thank her for this Simply Nigella delight.

Stages: combine ingredients, divide between ramekins and bake

Good things: it’s stupidly quick and stupidly delicious.

Bad things: don’t eat all the raw cookie dough

Ingredients (split between 4-6 ramekins):

  • 150g plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 110g soft unsalted butter
  • 85g soft light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 170g dark/milk chocolate chips

Required

  • Electric mixer
  • Mixing bowl
  • 4-6 ramekins
  • Wire rack

Preparation

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 C and take the butter out of the fridge so it softens a tad.
  2. Measure the plain flour, salt and bicarbonate of soda into a bowl. Fork it together.
  3. Measure out the brown sugar in a bowl, set aside. Cut off the 110g of butter (just under half a pack) and cut it into rough cubes.

Cooking

  1. Beat the butter and brown sugar and butter with an electric mixer in a mixing bowl.
  2. Add the vanilla extract and egg to the mixing bowl and beat in.
  3. Fold in the flour gently.
  4. Once it’s all combined (you’ll know) fold in the chocolate chips.
  5. Divide between 4-6 ramekins (depending on how big you want the dessert) and even each out in ramekin.
  6. Bake for 13-15 mins until golden at the edges.
  7. Leave to cool on wire rack for a few mins before serving, but I love it nice and hot.

Reflections

This is wonderful. I’m a greedy guts so I served this in 4 ramekins, not 6.

I halved the mixture. One half I wrapped up in clingfilm and put in the fridge, which you can totally do with the whole mixture to make in advance. The second half I put into two ramekins, baked and then ate immediately with sous-chef Nik.

Nigella says you can freeze the dough for up to a couple of months. Apparently you can go straight from frozen to the oven, but whack on an extra 2 mins.

img_8303

Leave a Reply

